Databases

To search for databases by subject, click here

Source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles. Topics include: physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature. Includes the New York Times back to 1985 and The Economist back to 1988.

Resource for academic research includes scholarly journals and selected general interest titles in a wide variety of subjects. Ideal for high school research.

A comprehensive resource for auto diagnostic and repair information.

**Available in library only** 

Discover your ancestors with the world’s largest family history website. 

**Available in library only**

This historical newspaper provides easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1857 – 1922

This database contains do-it-yourself repair and maintenance information on thousands of domestic and imported vehicles. Content has been provided by MOTOR Information Systems.

Find in-depth, original profiles of current biographies with full-text articles, page images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals.

Discover encyclopedia articles, full-text journal and magazine articles, primary sources, multimedia, and other unique resources and tools for college-level learners, researchers, and faculty.

Access to accurate and age-appropriate content in Spanish. Ideal for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish.

Discover encyclopedia articles, multimedia, primary sources, games, and other learning resources for Elementary, Middle and High School.

The Brooklyn Public Library’s digital newspapers including the Brooklyn Eagle, Brooklyn Life, and Activities of the Long Island Society.

Provides access to global business information including company profiles, market research, investment and financial reports, as well as business magazines and newspapers. 

An online career guidance and planning system. Prepare for the SAT/ACT, find a career, build a portfolio, learn how to write a resume and search for jobs, all in one convenient place.

Over 400,000 reviews, MARC records and related information about children’s literature.

Access to business and technical publicationss in the computer, electronics, and telecommunications industries.

Online Text Version. Full text access to the most current Car Issue of Consumer Reports.

Online Text Version. Full text access to the online version of Consumer Reports.

Research a wide variety of topics and images. A great place to start your research.

Concise, reliable, and up-to-date country reports on 200 cultures of the world. A trusted perspective on our changing world.

Resource for educators and education students. Access to periodicals covering pre-school to college and most educational specialties.

Gale in Context: Elementary contains age-appropriate magazines for grades K-5. Also includes a dictionary, maps, flags, seals, charts, graphs, and videos to support STEM topics. 

ERIC contains academic literature and studies pertaining to the field of education. This is a great resource for teachers or anyone interested in research having to do with the teaching profession.

Search for articles, essays and primary source materials for teens and adults.

Access to US military records including stories, photos, and personal documents.

Use these various directories to search, sort and export a variety of information such as financial information for companies, membership figures for associations, education- related financial aid and scholarships, and much more.

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

A source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, current events, education, environmental issues, health care, humanities, law, literature, politics, science,  sports, and technology. 

Access to scholarly, government and general-interest titles that focus on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Access to nursing and allied health journals, plus select consumer health information sources, and thousands of health-related multimedia.

Combines digital, searchable images of U.S. federal census records with the digitized version of the popular UMI® Genealogy and Local History book collection.

Access to a comprehensive, full text, history reference database designed for secondary schools and undergraduate research. Features full text for 2,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books.

Provides access to detailed “how-to” information for home improvement and repair projects. 

Access to digitized copies of historical newspapers from the Hudson River Valley region of New York State.  Free, but requires registration.

Spanish interface provides access to Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals both from and about Latin America.

Create an account with your library card and then start preparing your own legal forms.

LISTA covers subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval. Coverage dates back to the mid-1960s.

Access to information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames. Specifically designed for public libraries, secondary schools and undergraduate research.

Searching for a specific magazine or journal article? Start here with this A to Z list.

Access to full text magazines, journals, and reference books as well as photos, maps and flags. Search for Consumer Reports and more here!

Access to biomedical and health journals. Includes recently published.

Resource for students in grades 6 to 8. Offers magazines, newspapers, primary sources, and videos on a variety of topics. Supports national and state curriculum standards in language arts, social studies and science.

morningstar

This product offers real-time access to comprehensive data and independent analysis on thousands of investments, spanning mutual funds, stocks, exchange-traded funds, and closed-end funds. 

Search records from around the world including birth, marriage, death, military, census, and parish records.

national geographic kids

Reputable, authoritative, and age-appropriate content that brings them the world in a way they’ve never seen it before.  

Provides access to full articles in the between 1922-1993, one of the nation’s leading black newspapers of the 20th century and one of New York’s most influential black-owned institutions.

Full text of The New York Times late edition. Access to complete articles from 1980 onward including the Book Review and Magazine sections.

Access to full text articles of The New York Times from 1851-2014. Each article is in PDF format and includes images. Find obituaries and death notices back to 1851.

Access to several major American newspapers including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and The Washington Post.

Access to local and Long Island regional news stories and articles covering 1985 – current. 

Access to local and Long Island regional news stories and articles covering 1940 – 1989. 

Novelist K-8 Plus provides access to reading recommendations for both fiction and nonfiction for kids in grades K-8. 

Novelist Plus provides access to reading recommendations for both fiction and nonfiction. A readers’ advisory resource

Access to a wide range of historical newspapers that reflect New York’s unique history. Search by newspaper title, publishing date, or keywords for content.

Covers today’s hottest social issues, from offshore drilling to climate change, health care to immigration. Helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for their studies.

A great source for genealogical information. Lists are compiled from historical publications, naturalization records, government documents, ship manifests, and other historical sources. 

Access to local, regional, and national newspapers (1980-current). Includes The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, The Boston Globe, The Christian Science Monitor, The New York Times, USA Today, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.

reference usa

This search directory offers data access to information that can help you with your job search, business research, and demographic data. Look up phone numbers, addresses, and more on persons and businesses. 

Provides a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments.

Access science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and more. Topics include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, and more.

Provides biographies of children and young adults authors and illustrators.

Access to local newspapers covering nearly 100 years of Suffolk County, NY history. Including obituaries.

Access to journal articles for teachers and librarians.

tumble book library

An online collection of animated, talking picture books which teach young children the joys of reading in a format they’ll love.

Access to full text articles from 1984 through today.

Access to full text articles from 1889 through 2000.

Offers an encyclopedia, dictionary, atlas, homework help, study aids, and curriculum guides.